Simple Bayesian Network Example?

I’m new to Pyro (and PPLs), so bear with me.

I’m trying to figure out how to implement a simple Bayesian network (without neural networks). I’ve crawled Google and these forums, and I’ve seen a few threads that are close, but none of the code therein actually runs without error. There seems to be some modification for each example that is required, but I can’t seem to hack it together.

Let’s say I want to implement a BN with three variables, A, B and C. A is categorical with 3 possible values. B is continuous between 0 and 1 and has a beta distribution. C is boolean. A and B are independent and are parents of C.

What’s the simplest way to implement this model in Pyro? What does the guide function look like?

What do you mean by “implement”? What do you want to do with the model? Sample from it, or do inference? Are the model parameters fixed or do you want to estimate them? If the latter, how (ML, MAP, SVI, MCMC)? If anything other than ML, what are the priors over the model parameters? How does C depend on A and B?

Have you read the introductory tutorials? For discrete variables, you’ll also want to look at the enumeration tutorial and the Gaussian mixture tutorial. And for that, it’ll probably be necessary to have at least a look at the tensor shapes tutorial.

(Please don’t misunderstand; I’m sympathetic to your confusion. I also only started using pyro recently, am certainly not an expert, and still confused about things a lot of the time. I also think the some of the introductory materials are not as intuitive as they maybe could be.)

Hi, I am also new to Pyro and at the same stage as @perceptron.

As @perceptron said, there are some examples for Bayesian Networks (BNs) in the forum but most of them cannot be compiled without errors and they are not interpretable enough for pyro newbies. It’s really important to fully understand the basic syntax that pyro has (pyro.plate, pyro.sample and pyro.param) which I didn’t make it.