Using pyro.markov for Time-Series Variational Inference

Hi Everyone,

I’m a little new to Pyro, but I’m interested in using its variational inference capabilities to infer the hidden states from time-series models. I’ve been trying to build an example case to understand the tools available for modeling these types of systems, but I’ve gotten stuck in defining the ‘‘model’’ and ‘‘guide’’ functions. I’m working with a standard state-space system of the form

My understanding from the tutorials is that models of this form need to be specified using the ‘‘markov’’ effect handler, but the actual implementation is unclear, particularly when the goal is to infer the hidden states instead of marginalizing them out.

So far I’ve put together this structure in my ‘‘model’’:

data_plate = pyro.plate("data", data.shape, dim=-1)
for t in pyro.markov(range(len(data)-1)):
    x1[t+1] = pyro.sample("x1_{}".format(t+1), dist.Normal(x1[t] + dt*wn*x2[t], x1_std))
    x2[t+1] = pyro.sample("x2_{}".format(t+1), dist.Normal(x2[t] + dt*wn*(-2*zeta*x2[t] - x1[t]), x2_std))

with data_plate:
       data[t+1] = pyro.sample("y_{}".format(t+1), dist.Normal( -2*zeta*x2[t+1]-x1[t+1], meas_noise), obs=inp[t+1])

I think that the first section, describing ‘‘x1’’ and ‘‘x2’’, gives the Markovian relationship among the system states and that the second section, describing ‘‘data’’, specifies the conditional independence of the observed quantities given a knowledge of the current state. However, I’m not sure if this understanding is correct, or why these structures (’‘plate’’ and ‘‘markov’’) operate this way in this context. I’m also unsure on how to proceed to form a guide that infers the states ‘‘x1’’ and ‘‘x2’’.

Does anyone have any advice they can share on building these types of models?

4 Likes

Hi @ALund. I’ll share a few things and try to clarify some points.

What your model (or the segment of it that you’ve provided does) is a little nonstandard (not that there’s anything wrong with that):