Use of LogNormal in Numpyro

Hi everyone,

I am very new to Numpyro and hierarchical modeling. Recently I have been trying to build a hierarchical model where I have a hyper-prior (theta_group) which should be centered around 1 and strictly positive. There is another prior (theta_part) which should be centered around theta_group. I am trying to use LogNormal as priors for both:

theta_group = numpyro.sample("theta_group", dist.LogNormal(1.0, 1.0))
tau_group = numpyro.sample("tau_group", dist.HalfCauchy(5))
theta_part = numpyro.sample("theta_part", dist.LogNormal(theta_group, tau_group)) 
  • What should be the scale of the “mu” and “sigma” parameter for LogNormal. Am I declaring “theta_group” correctly?
  • Also what is the scale of the output of LogNormal? Do I have to perform any transformation on “theta_group” or “tau_group” before using those for “theta_part”?

Thanks.

You’re a little off. In the LogNormal distribution, the loc and scale (aka \mu and \sigma) are the mean and standard deviation of the log of the parameter. I.e. if

x \sim \text{LogNormal}(5,1)

That means:

x = \exp(5 \pm 1)

The log normal distribution is when you have a rough idea of the scale of the parameter, but don’t much care about the specific number. In your example, you’d want to change to:

theta_group = numpyro.sample("theta_group", dist.LogNormal(1.0, 1.0))
tau_group = numpyro.sample("tau_group", dist.HalfCauchy(5))
theta_part = numpyro.sample("theta_part", dist.LogNormal(np.log(theta_group), tau_group)) 

That said, if you’re looking for “More or less normally distributed but strictly positive”, consider instead using distribution transforms to enforce x>0. These transforms, which look something like:

transformed_dist = dist.TransformedDistribution(  
            dist.Normal(mu, sig),  
            dist.transforms.SoftplusTransform(),  
        )  

theta = numpyro.sample('theta', transformed_dist)