Usage of deterministic

Hi, I am new to Pyro, and I am currently trying to work out examples in this repo: GitHub - CamDavidsonPilon/Probabilistic-Programming-and-Bayesian-Methods-for-Hackers: aka "Bayesian Methods for Hackers": An introduction to Bayesian methods + probabilistic programming with a computation/understanding-first, mathematics-second point of view. All in pure Python ;) using pyro.

As I am working on the example of “An algorithm for human deceit” in Probabilistic-Programming-and-Bayesian-Methods-for-Hackers/Ch2_MorePyMC_PyMC3.ipynb at master · CamDavidsonPilon/Probabilistic-Programming-and-Bayesian-Methods-for-Hackers · GitHub. I have following model setup:

import pyro, torch, pyro.distributions as dist
N = 100
X = 35
def model(X):
    p = pyro.sample('freq_cheating', dist.Uniform(0, 1))
    with pyro.plate("truth_ans", N):
        true_answers = pyro.sample('truths', dist.Bernoulli(p))
        first_coin_flips = pyro.sample('first_flips', dist.Bernoulli(0.5))
        second_coin_flips = pyro.sample("second_flips", dist.Bernoulli(0.5))
        val = pyro.deterministic('val', first_coin_flips*true_answers + (1 - first_coin_flips)*second_coin_flips)
    observed_proportion = pyro.deterministic("observed_proportion", torch.sum(val) / N)
    observations = pyro.sample("obs", dist.Binomial(total_count=N, probs=observed_proportion), obs=X)

pyro.render_model(model, model_args=(torch.tensor(X), ))

this gives following graph:

which looks weird to me because val and observed_proportion seem to be disconnected from other variables. After I ran following sampling code:

kernel = NUTS(model, jit_compile=True, ignore_jit_warnings=True, max_tree_depth=3)
posterior = MCMC(kernel, num_samples=25000, warmup_steps=15000)
posterior.run(torch.tensor(X));
hmc_samples = {k: v.detach().cpu().numpy() for k, v in posterior.get_samples().items()}
figsize(12.5, 3)
p_trace = hmc_samples["freq_cheating"][15000:]