Support for building Bayesian Non-parametric Models in Pyro

Hello, I am new to PPL world. I came across TF-probability and was giving it a try, but the dependency mess in TF world is a turn-off. I am planning to switch to Pyro world for my needs.

Basically, I am interested in building Hierarchical Dirichlet Process-based models for text mining/IR.

Pardon my lack of knowledge about Pyro, but can we build Bayesian Non-parametric models using Pyro (similar to probability/Fitting_DPMM_Using_pSGLD.ipynb at main · tensorflow/probability · GitHub)?

Any leads on this would be highly appreciated.

Thanks,

Hi, the model in your linked example is a truncated approximation to a Dirichlet process mixture model, which is what people tend to do in practice. You should be able to port the model in the notebook to Pyro fairly easily, since the distributions have counterparts with very similar APIs in Pyro and torch.distributions. See the Gaussian mixture model tutorial for a guide to building mixture models in Pyro using Pyro’s discrete variable enumeration machinery.

Note that you would need to use Pyro’s NUTS MCMC implementation or variational inference unless you also want to implement the algorithm (SGLD) used in the example.

Thanks @eb8680_2 for your prompt reply.

I will read-up the tutorials you have mentioned and will try to port that example into pyro.

A follow-up question, are there any examples of BNP models (Dirichlet process based) in pyro?

Also, is there any plans on adding SGLD in Pyro?

If not, I would like to contribute towards it.

Please let me know how to get started, where to start looking etc.

Thanks

Are there any examples of BNP models (Dirichlet process based) in pyro?