Simple inverse graphics example with SVI not working

I’m new to pyro and want to implement a simple inverse graphics example involving estimating the vertices of a triangle drawn on a 32x32 black & white image.
I invented a model that samples 3 vertices, renders them and observes the results. I’m using SVI with a AutoMultivariateNormal guide (I also tried a convnet based guide, and inserting noise in the rendering process) to to the inference, but all I’m getting is inf loss.

(What does work: using importance sampling + a slightly stochastic rendering procedure with normal noise, however, doing the same with SVI asymptoetes on a huge ELBO loss and seems that it does not learn anything)

code:

from torch import zeros, ones, tensor
from torch.nn import Sequential, Conv2d, ReLU, MaxPool2d, Module
from pyro import *
from pyro.distributions import *
from pyro.infer import SVI, Trace_ELBO, EmpiricalMarginal
from pyro.optim import Adam
from pyro.contrib.autoguide import AutoDiagonalNormal, AutoMultivariateNormal
import numpy as np
from matplotlib.pyplot import imshow, plot, hist, scatter
from tqdm import trange

def generate():
    points = sample('points', Uniform(zeros(3,2),1))
    return points

def render(points):
    from PIL import Image, ImageDraw
    size = 32
    background = zeros((size, size))
    background = background.numpy()
    points = points.clone().detach().numpy()
    img = Image.fromarray(background)
    draw = ImageDraw.Draw(img)
    draw.polygon(points * size, fill=255)
    img = tensor(np.asarray(img)) / 255
    return img

def show(arg):
    if arg.shape[-1] == 2:
        arg = render(arg)
    imshow(arg.numpy(), cmap='gray')

def model(image=None):
    points = generate()
    img = render(points)
    return sample('image', Delta(img), obs=image)

triangles = generate()
image = render(triangles)
show(image)

guide = AutoMultivariateNormal(model)
svi = SVI(model, guide, Adam(dict(lr=1e-3)), Trace_ELBO(), num_samples=1000)