Sampling fails when using positive ordered constraints on normally distributed variable that is dependent on a discrete variable

Hi,

I’m new to NumPyro and I’m struggling with getting the sampling to work for my task. I’m sampling a dataset of N elements, where each element is a pair of points p = (x0, x1) with the constraint that x1 > x0 and x0, x1 > 0. x0 and x1 are each sampled from a mixture model of two clusters. The cluster means/stdevs for x0 and x1 are different, but the cluster assignment is the same. I have written the following code in numpyro for this:

def positive_ordered_model(N, pi, x0_prior, x1_prior):
    with numpyro.plate("N", N):
        #i = cluster assignment
        i = numpyro.sample("i", dist.Categorical(jnp.array(pi)), infer={'enumerate': 'parallel'})
        print("i.shape: {}".format(i.shape))

mean_x0 = x0_prior[i, 0]
        mean_x1 = x1_prior[i, 0]

std_x0 = x0_prior[i, 1]
        std_x1 = x1_prior[i, 1]

print("mean_x0.shape: {}, mean_x1.shape: {}".format(mean_x0.shape, mean_x1.shape))#, jnp.array([x0_prior[i, 0], x1_prior[i, 0]]).T.shape)
        print("std_x0.shape: {}, std_x1.shape: {}".format(std_x1.shape, std_x1.shape))#print(x0_prior[i, 1].shape, x1_prior[i, 1].shape, jnp.array([x0_prior[i, 1], x1_prior[i, 1]]).T.shape)

mean = jnp.array([mean_x0, mean_x1]).T
        std = jnp.array([std_x0, std_x1]).T

p = numpyro.sample("p", dist.TransformedDistribution(
            dist.Normal(mean, std), 
            transforms.ComposeTransform([transforms.OrderedTransform(), transforms.ExpTransform()])
        ))

print("p.shape: {}".format(p.shape))

p0 = numpyro.deterministic("p0", p[:, 0])
        p1 = numpyro.deterministic("p1", p[:, 1])

The following is my code for sampling

sampler = infer.MCMC(
    infer.NUTS(positive_ordered_model),
    num_warmup=500,
    num_samples=500,
    num_chains=2,
    progress_bar=True
)

jrng_key = jax.random.PRNGKey(42)
N = 100,
pi = jnp.array([0.5, 0.5])
x0_prior = jnp.array([[2, 0.5], [3, 0.5]])