Possible Help

Hello!
I am currently a Computer Science student at Columbia University and I lead the uni’s chapter of Codeprentice, which is an organization of students that want to contribute to open-source projects. This semester a couple of us will take a class on probabilistic programming that uses Pyro and we thought it would be really cool if we could help develop the library further with some students from the club. We could certainly help with what’s on the issues page in Github but I thought it would be good if I asked first if there were any project ideas you guys had in mind that a team of 3-4 students could tackle throughout the semester. We would be more than willing to help with whatever you guys think is relevant and where we could be useful.
cheers,
NB

2 Likes

Thanks for offering to help! Codeprentice looks like a great organization.

Here are a few project ideas whose suitability may vary depending on your team’s interests, background, free time and the degree to which the work must be independent (e.g. because you need to hand something in for a grade). I’m happy to talk more about any of these as necessary.

Examples and tutorials

The most valuable type of contribution to almost any open-source project is documentation, whether in the form of a general how-to guide, an example script or Jupyter notebook, or source code documentation. It’s also the easiest way to get started contributing to Pyro and familiarize yourself with the language.

My recommendation here would be to pick a paper you enjoyed or read for a class, try to reproduce the important tools and results, and turn it into a tutorial. For example, I believe both this tutorial on Dirichlet process mixture models and this one on boosting black box variational inference were the output of university course projects. You can ask your instructor for ideas if you’re having trouble narrowing it down, or open a feature request issue if you want any advice from us before starting.