Parallelizing [exact] inference

I’m rather new to Pyro, so I’m still digesting the codebase. While I know exact inference isn’t ideal for computational efficiency, I’m using that (for now) because I’m reproducing some prior research and want to stick as closely as I can to their process.

I’ve been using the Search class specified in examples/rsa/search_inference.py. Given that I have a few hundred/thousand K samples to make, for exact inference, I was wondering if there’s a way to parallelize the search process.

My standard tool for parallelization is dask but given some of their quirks wrt “all tasks must be futures”, I don’t see a way to it without significantly modifying a codebase I don’t fully understand.

So far, multiprocessing.Queue whines about an inability to pickle the EscapeMessenger. I’ve tried multiprocess.Queue, but I seem stuck in a lock. For folks that have parallelized their inference process, do you have any recommendations on next-steps I could take?

Hi @jmuchovej, I’d recommend trying to parallelize by vectorizing if possible. Often you can rewrite a probabilistic program with dynamic control flow to an equivalent program with static control flow and masking. That may require a custom implementation of Search.

:wave: @fritzo, thanks for replying! :slight_smile:

In non-Pyro contexts, I’d have a better idea of what to do here. :sweat_smile: (I’m building an RSA, but the world state is 500 \times 300, so everything balloons because of that.)

Looking at the docs on pyro.sample and pyro.factor (the main Pyro functions I use, atm), I don’t see a way to take N pyro.sample (unless doing a list comprehension). Even there, I don’t quite a see how that would achieve a speed-up, as the main bottleneck is when I get higher up on the speaker/listener stack. Each speaker takes around 30s to compute the world state + utterance combinations.