Odd ConcretizationTypeError in poisson binomial model

I’m fairly new to NumPyro and am trying to get a model to work. The model is:

def precincts(racepop, count, pVecsLength, max_len_pVecs):
    poibin = pb.PoissonBinomial(count, pVecsLength)
    pW = numpyro.sample('pW', dist.Beta(1, 1))
    pH = numpyro.sample('pH', dist.Beta(1, 1))
    #Adding zero to end so 0's can be repeated and pad to equal length:
    pVals = jnp.stack((pW, pH, 0))
    pVecs = createPVecs(racepop, pVals, max_len_pVecs)
    numpyro.sample('obs', poibin, obs=pVecs)

Which has this utility function:

def createPVecs(racepop, pVals, max_len_pVecs):
    out = []
    for i in range(racepop.shape[0]):
        out.append( jnp.repeat(pVals,racepop[i], total_repeat_length = max_len_pVecs) )
    return out

The model, which includes my self-written distribution function, works fine until the progress bar shows–that is, it tries out a pair of pW and pH values and gets a log-likelihood. But once the progress bar appears, I get the following error:

Exception has occurred: ConcretizationTypeError       (note: full exception trace is shown but execution is paused at: _run_module_as_main)
Abstract tracer value encountered where concrete value is expected: Traced<ShapedArray(bool[])>with<DynamicJaxprTrace(level=2/1)>
The problem arose with the `bool` function. 
While tracing the function _body_fn at /home/pb/Software/anaconda3/lib/python3.7/site-packages/numpyro/infer/hmc_util.py:1002 for while_loop, this value became a tracer due to JAX operations on these lines:

operation a:i64[] = zeros_like b
    from line /home/pb/Software/anaconda3/lib/python3.7/site-packages/numpyro/distributions/transforms.py:832 (log_abs_det_jacobian)