NAN log_prob_sum in Poisson model?

Hello Pyro community! I’m a Pyro noob, just getting my feet wet with some simple models, and ran into a warning that I could use some help understanding.

I’m attempting to use NUTS to draw from the posterior of a simple Poisson GLM with one covariate and n observations:

y_i ~ Poisson(exp(a + b * x_i)) for i = 1, …, n
a ~ Normal(0, 2)
b ~ Normal(0, 1)

Here’s the code I have so far:

import numpy as np
import torch
import pyro
import pyro.distributions as dist
from pyro.infer.mcmc import MCMC, NUTS
from pyro.infer import EmpiricalMarginal

def simulate_data(n, alpha, beta1):
    """
    Simulate data from a Poisson GLM
    n: number of observations
    alpha: intercept
    beta1: slope
    """
    x = np.linspace(start=0, stop=1, num=n)
    log_lam = alpha + beta1 * x
    lam = np.exp(log_lam)
    counts = np.random.poisson(lam)
    out = {'n': n,
           'alpha': alpha, 
           'beta1': beta1, 
           'x': x.astype('float32'), 
           'lambda': lam,
           'counts': counts.astype('float32')}
    return out

data = simulate_data(n=40, alpha=3, beta1=-1.5)
x = torch.tensor(data['x'])
counts = torch.tensor(data['counts'])

def model():
    alpha = pyro.sample('alpha', dist.Normal(loc=0, scale=2))
    beta1 = pyro.sample('beta1', dist.Normal(loc=0, scale=1))
    log_lam = alpha + beta1 * x
    lam = torch.exp(log_lam)
    with pyro.iarange('observe_data'):
        pyro.sample('obs', dist.Poisson(rate=lam), obs=counts)

kernel = NUTS(model, adapt_step_size=True)
num_samples = 1000
warmup_steps = 1000
mcmc = MCMC(kernel, num_samples, warmup_steps).run()

This last line returns the following warning:

/home/max/anaconda3/lib/python3.6/site-packages/pyro/poutine/trace_struct.py:17: UserWarning: Encountered NAN log_prob_sum at site 'obs'
  warnings.warn("Encountered NAN log_prob_sum at site '{}'".format(name))