Multivariate regression not converging

Dear Pyro Experts,

I am new to Pyro and probabilistic programming in general. I am trying to fit a multivariate regression with 40 covariates and 82 response variables. My simple model is as follows:

def model(x, y=None):
        weight = pyro.sample("weight", dist.Normal(torch.zeros(40,82),torch.ones(40,82)).to_event(2))
        bias = pyro.sample("bias", dist.Normal(torch.zeros(82,),torch.ones(82,)))
        mu = torch.matmul(x,weight) +  bias

with pyro.plate("data", x.shape[0]):
            obs = pyro.sample("obs", dist.MultivariateNormal(loc=mu, scale_tril=torch.eye(82)), obs=y)

guide = AutoMultivariateNormal(model)

adam = pyro.optim.Adam({"lr": 0.0001})
     svi = SVI(model, guide, adam, loss=Trace_ELBO())

for j in range(40000):
        loss = svi.step(guideMatrix_trainTensor, expressionMatrix_trainTensor)

However my model does not converge, loss values fluctuate back and forth. When I do a simple regression with the same matrices with one response variable at a time, I get the results with no problem. May I ask what may be going wrong in here? Also is there a way to define priors over the multivariate covarince matrix?

Thanks in advance.

Hi @Basak,

I’d recommend @martinjankowiak’s recent tips tutorial. Additionally here are some specific tips in order of priority:

1. First try an AutoDelta, then an AutoNormal, then an AutoMultivariateNormal guide. These progress from cheap-and-robust to accurate-but-expensive-and-numerically-sensitive.
  2. Try decreasing the initial scale parameter of your autoguide:
    guide = AutoMultivariateNormal(model, init_scale=0.01)  # or even 0.001

3. Make sure all your data inputs and outputs have been scaled to have mean on the order of zero and standard deviation on the order of 1. E.g. 10 ± 0.1 is ok, but 1e6 ± 1e7 will probably fail. This is needed because deep learning optimizers
  4. Since your likelihood is diagonal, it will be cheaper to use a Normal.