Modeling missingness indicators

Hey everyone,

Does someone have a code sample on how to model missing values? In theory, I understand that the missing values can be considered just like any other random variables. However, it would be great if I could get a head start on how to write this with Pyro?

P.S.: This is my first time applying theory using a PPL and still trying to calibrate the theory/practice transfer.

There are many ways to model missing data in a PPL like Pyro. I think the main techniques are:

• make partial observations sequentially via pyro.sample(..., obs=x) where x is either a tensor or None.
  • make partial observations in parallelusing poutine.mask to include only observed data in the log prob
  • optionally model missingness via pyro.sample("present", Bernoulli(p_observed), obs=present)

For example, suppose you have a dataset of inputs x and partially observed outputs y:

def model(x, y, y_present):
    assert x.dtype == torch.float
    assert x.dtype == torch.float
    assert x.shape == y.shape
    assert y_present.dtype == torch.uint8
    with pyro.plate("data", len(x)):

# Model the data that is observed:
        with poutine.mask(y_present):
            pyro.module("loc_nn", my_loc_nn)
            loc = my_loc_nn(x)
            pyro.sample("y", Normal(loc, 1.),
                        obs=y)

# Model whether data is observed:
        pyro.module("presence_nn", my_presence_nn)
        p_present = my_presence_nn(x)
        pyro.sample("y_present", Bernoulli(p_present),
                    obs=y_present.float())
1 Like

That makes sense. I think for a start, I’m choosing to model missingness directly via independent Bernoulli(s).

On this note, one thing that comes up is that sometimes I might want to integrate out my missing values. If I want to put that down in Pyro PPL,

1. For discrete RVs, does enumeration in the model equal integrating out those missing values?