Misunderstanding of how to write guides for SVI

Hello - I’m quite new to pyro/numpyro and have read through most of the numpyro port of Statistical Rethinking (GitHub - fehiepsi/rethinking-numpyro: Statistical Rethinking (2nd ed.) with NumPyro), and read through all the introductory tutorials for Pyro (more than once for the SVI tutorials) and numpyro.

I’m trying to simply redo a simple linear regression model implemented by a colleague of mine using numpyro to see if I can recover similar coefficient to what they got using statsmodel.

I define a linear model as:

def linear_regression(X, y=None):
    a = numpyro.sample("a", numpyro.distributions.Normal(0, 100))
    n_scaled_features = X.shape[1] - 1 

with numpyro.plate("bs", size=n_scaled_features):
        b = numpyro.sample("b", numpyro.distributions.Normal(0., 800.))

b2 = numpyro.sample("b2", numpyro.distributions.Normal(0., 1.))
    mu = a + b2 * X[:, -1] + jnp.sum(X[:, :-1] * b, axis=1)
    sigma = numpyro.sample("sigma", numpyro.distributions.HalfNormal(5))
    with numpyro.plate("data", size=X.shape[0]):
        numpyro.sample("obs", numpyro.distributions.Normal(mu, sigma), obs=y)

When I run this model using:

num_warmup, num_samples = 1000, 1000
mcmc = MCMC(NUTS(model=linear_regression), num_warmup, num_samples)
mcmc.run(random.PRNGKey(2), X, y) 

I get essentially the same coefficients as those returned by the statsmodel linear regression. However when I try to fit the model using SVI, first by following the format shown in the tutorial: Bayesian Regression - Inference Algorithms (Part 2) — Pyro Tutorials 1.8.4 documentation,

def manual_guide(X, y=None):
    n_scaled_features = X.shape[1] - 1                            
    a_loc = numpyro.param("a_loc", jnp.zeros(1))
    a_scale = numpyro.param("a_scale", 100. * jnp.ones(1),
                            constraint=numpyro.distributions.constraints.positive)    
    a = numpyro.sample("a", numpyro.distributions.Normal(loc=a_loc, scale=a_scale))