Inference with discrete latent variables (Sequential SS-VAE)

Hi everyone!

I’m new to both probabilistic programming and probabilistic machine learning in case you are wondering why I make stupid questions on this forum from time to time :wink:

I’m trying to implement a semi-supervised seq2seq VAE for sequential data by taking inspiration by both your semi-supervised VAE (SS-VAE) and DMM tutorials.

Unfortunately, now I’m stuck in one point of my code and I need, if possible, your help/educated advice.

Let me suppose that (part of ) the decoder is a RNN —actually are RNNs also the encoder_z and the encoder_y. The label y is a discrete variable, while z is a continuous one (i.e., a multivariate Gaussian). To avoid any issue due to the high variance of a Monte Carlo estimator for the discrete variable, I decided to use the same solution as in the SS-VAE tutorial, that is that of enumerating y.

A typical approach adopted in seq2seq models relies in concatenating z coming from the encoder_z and y coming from the encoder_y, mapping them into the RNN’s hidden size (e.g., through a MLP) and using it as initial hidden state for the RNN in the decoder, by letting this latter also receive the input x (i.e., some sequence of symbols) during the training.

However, as a consequence of the config_enum setting for the guide (used in conjunction with TraceEnum_ELBO), both y and z (sampled from their respective priors in the model part) have the following shape: y.shape = (num_classes, batch_size, num_classes), and z.shape = (num_classes, batch_size, latent_size). I concatenated z and y, passed the result to an MLP that returned the hidden_state of shape (num_classes, batch_size, hidden_size). At this point I have the doubt on how to proceed. Indeed, the RNN requires that the hidden_state has the shape (1, batch_size, hidden_size) —let me suppose, for the sake of simplicity, that the RNN is not bidirectional and the number of layers is equal to 1.