Inference for simple DAG with mixed distributions

I’m very new to Pyro, Bayesian models, and VI, despite having worked through many papers and tutorials, so I hope you’ll forgive some very naive questions…

I’m trying to construct a model from which to perform inference, and I’m starting from a small toy situation, in which I have three attributes that are collected: job, sex and income. These are categorical, binary and interval attributes, respectively, and I’m assuming they form a DAG in which sex depends upon job, and income depends upon both sex and job.

I have made an attempt to create a model for this scenario:

import torch
import pyro
import pyro.distributions as dist

# Data is tensor of format
# [[job, sex, income], ...]
cols = {'job':0,
        'sex':1, 
        'income':2}
n_job_categories = 4

def model(data):

# Start off assuming all jobs equally likely
    job_cats = pyro.sample("job_cats", dist.Dirichlet(torch.ones(n_job_categories) / n_job_categories))

# Sex of person is dependent upon job - but assume no bias initially
    # and limit to simple case of either male or female to provide
    # binary attribute example
    job_sex_alpha = torch.tensor([10., 10.]) 
    job_sex_beta = torch.tensor([10., 10.])

# Income is spread normally with parameters determined
    # by job and sex
    inc_job_sex_norm = torch.ones([n_job_categories, 2]*10000)
    inc_job_sex_var = torch.ones([n_job_categories, 2]*100)

for i in pyro.plate("workers", len(data)):
        datum = data[i]

job = pyro.sample("obs_job_{}".format(i), 
                                  dist.Categorical(job_cats), 
                                  obs=datum[cols['job']])

sex_prior = pyro.sample("sex_prior_{}".format(i), dist.Beta(job_sex_alpha[job.long()], job_sex_beta[job.long()]))
        sex = pyro.sample("obs_sex_{}".format(i), 
                                  dist.Bernoulli(sex_prior), 
                                  obs=datum[cols['sex']])