Implementing Uncorrected Hamiltonian Annealing / Differentiable Annealed Importance Sampling

I am interested in using UHA/DAIS [1, 2] in Pyro. I noticed that there is an implementation for NumPyro [3]. I would be willing to implement the method in Pyro, however, as I am very new to the Pyro/NumPyro ecosystem I might need some initial pointers to start.
I had a very brief look at the code in NumPyro today. I guess it should be manageable to port the NumPyro Implementation in large parts to Pyro. However, I noticed that there is no equivalent to _potential_fn in Pyro. More specifically, I am talking about the method

def log_density(x):
  x_unpack = self._unpack_latent(x)
  with numpyro.handlers.block():
      return -self._potential_fn(x_unpack)

in the method _sample_latent which is computing the log joint probability of latents and data. I am not very sure what might be the best way to implement this in Pyro.

Any help is very appreciated! Thank you in advance.

[1] Geffner, T. and Domke, J. (2021). MCMC variational inference via uncorrected Hamiltonian annealing. In Advances in Neural Information Processing Systems
[2] Zhang, G., Hsu, K., Li, J., Finn, C., and Grosse, R. (2021). Differentiable annealed importance sampling and the perils of gradient noise. In Advances in Neural Information Processing Systems.
[3] Automatic Guide Generation — NumPyro documentation

afaik the place to start would be initialize_model

although @fehiepsi might have a better suggestion. note it might be a bit complicated to get all the details right, given the complexity of transforms and the like.

also note that any pyro implementation of uha/dais is expected to be somewhat slow compared to numpyro. basically because there will be overhead from a python for loop, which jax can compile away. also pytorch isn’t great about optimizing gradients. this is one of the reasons we implemented these methods in numpyro.