Hyperprior

Hello, I am new to probabilistic programming and Pyro.

Is it possible to use a hyperprior to model the prior of some model using Pyro?

thanks

Sure, just sample your model’s hyperparameters from a prior distribution in your model definition in the usual way with pyro.sample, as you would with any other component of your model. There’s no conceptual distinction in Bayesian inference between priors and hyperpriors.

If your model is already written as a torch.nn.Module, you can also use pyro.nn.PyroModule to avoid boilerplate code in your model logic:

class MyModel(torch.nn.Module):
    def __init__(self, ...):

def forward(self, ...):
        # actual model logic here

class MyPyroModel(MyModel, pyro.nn.PyroModule):
    pass

my_module = MyPyroModel(...)
my_module.some_hyperparam = PyroSample(dist.Normal(0, 1))
1 Like

Would something like that work?

class BNN(PyroModule):

def __init__(self, input_size, hidden_size, output_size):
    super(BNN, self).__init__()
    self.fc1 = PyroModule[nn.Linear](input_size, hidden_size)
    self.fc1.weight = PyroSample(dist.Normal(0., 1.).expand([hidden_size, input_size]).to_event(2))
    self.fc1.bias = PyroSample(dist.Normal(0., 10.).expand([hidden_size]).to_event(1))
    self.out = PyroModule[nn.Linear](hidden_size, output_size)
    self.out.weight = PyroSample(dist.Normal(0., 1.).expand([output_size, hidden_size]).to_event(2))
    self.out.bias = PyroSample(dist.Normal(0., 10.).expand([output_size]).to_event(1))

def forward(self, x, y_data=None):
    output = self.fc1(x)
    output = F.relu(output)
    output = self.out(output)
    lhat = F.log_softmax(output)
    obs = pyro.sample("obs", dist.Categorical(logits=lhat), obs=y_data)
    return obs

model = BNN(28*28, 1024, 10)
model.weight1 = PyroSample(dist.Normal(0., 1.))

Would something like that work?