How to try gradient-free sampler for Lotka-Volterra example?

I’m new to numpyro but have used pymc and diffrax/JAX. I’m adapting the numpyro Lotka-Volterra ODE tutorial to use the JAX package diffrax that is officially recommended instead of odeint: Example: Predator-Prey Model — NumPyro documentation

Here’s my simple code rewriting that tutorial…

from jax import config
config.update("jax_enable_x64", True)
from jax.random import PRNGKey
import jax.numpy as jnp
from jax import jit
import numpyro
import numpyro.distributions as dist
from numpyro.examples.datasets import LYNXHARE, load_dataset
from numpyro.infer import MCMC, NUTS, Predictive
from diffrax import diffeqsolve, ODETerm, SaveAt, Tsit5

### download pre-packaged numpyro data for Lotka-Volterra problem
_, fetch = load_dataset(LYNXHARE, shuffle=False)
year, data = fetch()  # data is in hare -> lynx order

### Lotka-Volterra ODE function
def vector_field(t, y, args):
    prey, predator = y
    alpha, beta, gamma, delta = args    
    dprey_dt = alpha * prey - beta * prey * predator
    dpredator_dt = -gamma * predator + delta * prey * predator
    return dprey_dt, dpredator_dt

### setup for diffrax
term = ODETerm(vector_field)
solver = Tsit5()
t0 = jnp.asarray(year[0],dtype=jnp.float64)
t1 = jnp.asarray(year[-1],dtype=jnp.float64)
dt0 = 0.1 
y0 = (20,30)
args = (0.52, 0.026, 0.84, 0.026) 
saveat = SaveAt(ts=jnp.asarray(year,dtype=jnp.float64)) # evaluate at same times as observations

### jitted function that solves ODE for given initial conditions (y0) and free parameters (args)
@jit
def solve_diffrax(y0,args):
    # returning transposed solution so it has same dims as data: 91x2
    return jnp.asarray(diffeqsolve(term, solver, t0, t1, dt0, y0, args=args, saveat=saveat).ys).T

def model(obs_data):

init_hare = numpyro.sample("init_hare", dist.LogNormal(jnp.log(10), 1)) # mean-log(10), sigma=1
    init_lynx = numpyro.sample("init_lynx", dist.LogNormal(jnp.log(10), 1))
    y_init = (init_hare, init_lynx)