How to get parameters to be passed in torch optimizers?

Hi all.

I am new to pyro. I want to use PyTorch optimizers for custom SVI. I am following Custom SVI Objectives tutorial.

Now, I need to pass parameters to the Adam optimizer but I am not sure how to get parameters out of the guide.

An example of how I have set up my model and guide, is similar to LinearRegression tutorial -

class BayesianRegression(PyroModule):
    def __init__(self, in_features, out_features):
        super().__init__()
        self.linear = PyroModule[nn.Linear](in_features, out_features)
        self.linear.weight = PyroSample(dist.Normal(0., 1.).expand([out_features, in_features]).to_event(2))
        self.linear.bias = PyroSample(dist.Normal(0., 10.).expand([out_features]).to_event(1))

def forward(self, x, y=None):
        sigma = pyro.sample("sigma", dist.Uniform(0., 10.))
        mean = self.linear(x).squeeze(-1)
        with pyro.plate("data", x.shape[0]):
            obs = pyro.sample("obs", dist.Normal(mean, sigma), obs=y)
        return mean

model = BayesianRegression(3, 1)
guide = AutoDiagonalNormal(model)
# How to get guide parameters?

Thanks

Hi @sayam049, For autoguides or other PyroModule guides you should be able to simply use the .parameters() method:

model = ...  # a PyroModule
guide = AutoDiagonalNormal(model)
parameters = list(guide.parameters())
1 Like

Thanks @fritzo
I tried this approach earlier as well, and that returned me an empty list. Here is a reproducible snippet

In [1]: import pyro

In [2]: pyro.__version__
Out[2]: '1.6.0'

In [3]: from pyro.nn import PyroModule, PyroSample

In [4]: import pyro.distributions as dist

In [5]: import torch.nn as nn

In [6]: class BayesianRegression(PyroModule):
   ...:     def __init__(self, in_features, out_features):
   ...:         super().__init__()
   ...:         self.linear = PyroModule[nn.Linear](in_features, out_features)