How to create a Neural Linear Model?

Hi! I’m new to the Bayesian framework, and currently I’m trying to quantify uncertainty in one of my neural networks. I’m working through this paper: Bayesian Classifiers With Out Of Distribution Uncertainty where a Bayesian Logistic Regression model is required.

The thing is, I don’t how where to start with this. Any help would be appreciated, as my undergraduate honours thesis depends on this :sweat_smile:!

I would start by reading the NumPyro Bayesian regression tutorial. Presumably you would want to do something very similar, except your inputs are features from a pretrained neural network rather than raw data.

1 Like

Thanks for your quick reply! I created the following model below, but I am not getting the results I expected (which may be due to the other, unrelated parts of my methodology). Just to make sure I have everything right in terms of how I am using numpyro to follow the previously attached figure, does the following model make sense?

def logistic_regression(output_of_neural_network, labels=None, L):
    '''
    output_of_neural_network = phi_theta(x)
    y | x = cat(softmax(W^T*phi_theta(x))) (if we are distinguishing between the different L classes)
    Since we want a bayesian logistic regression model that distinguishes between in and out of distribution data,
    I assume that we can re-write above as:
    b | x = bernoulli(softmax(W^T*phi_theta(x)))
    where b is either 0 for an in distribution class or 1 for an out of distribution class
    W ~ P(W)
    '''
    W = numpyro.sample('weights', dist.Normal(jnp.zeros(L), jnp.ones(L)))
    intercept = numpyro.sample('intercept', dist.Normal(0.0, 5.0))
    softmax = jnn.softmax(W*output_of_neural_network)
    logits = jnp.sum(softmax + intercept, axis=-1)
    return numpyro.sample('obs', dist.Bernoulli(logits=logits), obs=labels)     # b | x
#     return numpyro.sample('obs', dist.Categorical(probs=softmax), obs=labels) # y | x

The line