How to convert A/B testing model in pymc3 to pyro?

Hey,
I am just starting out in probabilistic programming and am going through GitHub - CamDavidsonPilon/Probabilistic-Programming-and-Bayesian-Methods-for-Hackers: aka "Bayesian Methods for Hackers": An introduction to Bayesian methods + probabilistic programming with a computation/understanding-first, mathematics-second point of view. All in pure Python ;), in the second chapter, the author describes how to do A/B testing using MCMC using pymc3:

def analyse(As, Bs):
    totalA = 0.55
    totalB = 0.45
    with pm.Model() as model:
        p_A = pm.Beta('p_A', totalA, 1 - totalA)
        p_B = pm.Beta('p_B', totalB, 1 - totalB)
        delta = pm.Deterministic("delta", p_A - p_B)
        ADist = pm.Bernoulli("obsA", p_A, observed=As)
        BDist = pm.Bernoulli("obsB", p_B, observed=Bs)
        step = pm.Metropolis()
        trace = pm.sample(20000, step=step, cores=1)
        burned_trace = trace[1000:]
    delta_samples = burned_trace["delta"]
    return delta_samples, burned_trace["p_A"], burned_trace["p_B"]

so I call analyse and send it two lists [1,0,0,1,1] and [0,0,0,1], which basically means 5 people came to A, 3 converted, and 4 people came to B and 1 converted. I am wondering how to convert this model to pyro, any help will be appreciated, thanks :slight_smile:

I think that you can start to build some graphical model in Pyro using tutorials in Getting Started With Pyro: Tutorials, How-to Guides and Examples — Pyro Tutorials 1.8.4 documentation or pyro/examples/eight_schools at dev · pyro-ppl/pyro · GitHub example to be familiar with Pyro.

Then I believe you can build that pymc3 model. pymc3 uses MCMC to train their model. You can find a similar solution in the example pyro/baseball.py at dev · pyro-ppl/pyro · GitHub.

1 Like