HMM with both continuous and discrete observations

Hi,

I’m a bit new to Pyro and have been working on a HMM for protein structure prediction, which will have 4 observations per (discrete) timestep when done:

The observations are as follows:

One continuous observation containing two values. This is sampled from a custom distribution I have implemented (bivariate von mises) and has the look: tensor([ [phi , psi ] ]), so shape (1,2). The values are in radians.

and

Three discrete observations sampled from each their own categorical distribution.

It’s going alright when I only have categorical observations, but I run into massive problems when I try to do the same model but with the continuous observations.

What am I doing wrong?

def model_0(seq_AA, seq_DSSP, seq_dihedral, lengths, args, batch_size=None, include_prior=True):
    assert not torch._C._get_tracing_state()
    num_sequences, max_length, data_dim = seq_AA.shape

data_dim_AA = 20 #for aminoacids
    data_dim_dihedral = 2

with poutine.mask(mask=include_prior):

probs_x = pyro.sample("probs_x",
                              dist.Dirichlet(0.9 * torch.eye(args.hidden_dim) + 0.1)
                                  .to_event(1))

probs_y_AA = pyro.sample("probs_y_AA",
                              dist.Beta(0.1, 0.9)
                                  .expand([args.hidden_dim, data_dim_AA])
                                  .to_event(2))

probs_y_means = pyro.sample("probs_y_means",
                              dist.VonMises(torch.tensor([0.]), torch.tensor(90.))
                                  .expand([args.hidden_dim, data_dim_dihedral])
                                  .to_event(2))

probs_y_lam = pyro.sample("probs_y_lam",
                              dist.Normal(torch.tensor([0.]), torch.tensor(1.))
                                  .expand([args.hidden_dim, 1])
                                  .to_event(2))

probs_y_k1k2 = pyro.sample("probs_y_k1k2",