Help, how can I use a 2D empirical distribution?

Hello friends,

I am very new at this so any help is highly appreciated.

Task

I want to find which time offset gives me a good match between the time vs. latitude of a series of solar cycles given the time vs. latitude distribution of a series of reference solar cycles.

Approach
I’m not sure if this is the right approach, but my idea was to create a model that marginalizes the distribution of offsets by comparing the latitude vs. time points of a series of solar cycles against the empirical distribution of a series of solar cycles. I am using TFP’s Empirical distribution

Problem
I was thinking I could use two plates, one to represent the fitted cycles and one to represent the reference cycles, but I’m not being able to figure out the broadcasting while using TFP’s empirical distribution.

Here is my model:

def model(self, 
            ref_lat:jnp.array, 
            ref_time:jnp.array, 
            fit_lat:jnp.array, 
            fit_time:jnp.array):

ref_cyc_n = ref_lat.shape[1]
    fit_cyc_n = fit_lat.shape[1]

# Broadcast ref and fit variables
    ref_lat_b = jnp.swapaxes(jnp.swapaxes(jnp.broadcast_to(ref_lat, (fit_lat.shape[1], ref_lat.shape[0], ref_cyc_n)),0, 1), 1, 2)
    ref_time_b = jnp.swapaxes(jnp.swapaxes(jnp.broadcast_to(ref_time, (fit_lat.shape[1], ref_lat.shape[0], ref_cyc_n)),0, 1), 1, 2)
    ref_data = jnp.concatenate([ref_time_b[:,None,:,:], ref_lat_b[:,None,:,:]], axis=1)

fit_lat_b = jnp.swapaxes(jnp.broadcast_to(fit_lat, (ref_cyc_n, fit_lat.shape[0], fit_cyc_n)), 0, 1)
    fit_time_b = jnp.swapaxes(jnp.broadcast_to(fit_time, (ref_cyc_n, fit_lat.shape[0], fit_cyc_n)), 0, 1)

# Define plates
    fit_plate = numpyro.plate("fit_cyc", fit_cyc_n, dim=-1)
    ref_plate = numpyro.plate("ref_cyc", ref_cyc_n, dim=-2)
    with fit_plate:
        with ref_plate:
            offst = numpyro.sample('offst', dist.Normal(0., self.offst_sig))
            offst_time = fit_time_b + offst