Hashable args/kwargs

Hello.

I’m new to pyro, so my questions may seem kind of basic. But I’m running into a bug in my program where the marginal distribution I’ve inferred from a generative model seems to need hashable arguments. Does this mean that if we specify a generative model it can’t take as arguments anything hashable (i.e. numpy arrays? other types of objects?).

Another quick question, what’s the significance of the *args, **kwargs notation I see in the call structure for a bunch of the functions in the documentation?

Thanks for your help!

Hi, can you post a code snippet that reproduces the errors you’re getting?

The *args, **kwargs notation indicates additional, unspecified arguments. It appears frequently because much of Pyro’s internals are concerned with recording and modifying the behavior of function calls.

Sure! The code is dependent on a bunch of procedures in other files, but I can show you the part that is producing the error:

def solve(h, num_samp, bmdp, belief, state):
	action_dist = dist.Categorical(ps=Variable(torch.FloatTensor([1/len(bmdp.pomdp.actions) for _ in bmdp.pomdp.actions])),vs=list(range(len(bmdp.pomdp.actions))))
	qs = [bmdp.reward_func(belief, a) for a in bmdp.pomdp.actions]

for i in range(len(qs)):
	marg = pyro.infer.Marginal(pyro.infer.Importance(sample_reward, num_samples=num_samp))
	exp_val = 1/num_samp*sum([marg(h-1,bmdp,belief,action_dist,state) for _ in range(num_samp)])
	qs[i] += exp_val

print('qs')
print(qs)
print()
return qs[np.argmax(np.array([q[1] for q in qs]))][0]

The above call on marg leads to the issue. Also for reference here is the sample_reward function:

def sample_reward(h, bmdp, belief, action_dist, state):
	if h == 0:
		return 0
	else:
		act_ind = pyro.sample('act', action_dist)[0]
		# print(act_ind)
		act = bmdp.pomdp.actions[act_ind]
		new_bel, state = bmdp.bel_sampler(belief, act, state)