Explicitness in model building (partly in comparison to pymc3)

heya! i’m very new to pyro, but i’ve some experience with pymc3. sorry about the long post, but to compensate, my questions are probably very simple :slight_smile:

i found this tutorial where they have a similar noisy scale example as in official docs, and define a model like this:

def model(observations):

weight_prior = pyrodist.Uniform(0.0, 2.0)
    weight = pyro.sample("weight1", weight_prior)
    my_dist = pyrodist.Normal(weight, 0.1)
    for i,observation in enumerate(observations):
        measurement = pyro.sample(f'obs_{i}', my_dist, obs=observation)

now, i can kind of get how they think with looping through the observations and checking each individual observation, but it also feels really explicit compared to pymc3.

so i tried doing it similarly to what i would do in pymc3 like so:

def model3(observatories):
    weight = pyro.sample('weight', pyrodists.Uniform(0, 2))
    measurement = pyro.sample("measurement", pyrodists.Normal(weight, 0.1), obs=observatories)

this worked nicely. so my first question is; is there some reason for doing that explicit comparison from the tutorial?

i’m asking, because my feeling so far is that pyro is more explicit/needs more detailed code than pymc3, for example that you have to define a kernel for mcmc. but it may also just be that all the tutorials and examples i’ve seen so far happen to be very explicit?

secondly, about pyro.condition, i went to official docs and found my model above was similar to the example there, namely

def scale(guess):
    weight = pyro.sample("weight", dist.Normal(guess, 1.0))
    return pyro.sample("measurement", dist.Normal(weight, 0.75))

and then you can wrap that function like this:

def deferred_conditioned_scale(measurement, guess):
    return pyro.condition(scale, data={"measurement": measurement})(guess)