Effective Sample Size very low for Gaussian Mixture Model

I’m new to NumPyro, and I’m learning it with an aim to replace my current Stan model with Numpyro and achieve potential speedup.

I wrote a simple Gaussian Mixture Model - based on the model here, but with an added constraint that the cluster means be ordered. I’m testing it using a dataset of N = 100000 points, K = 4 clusters.

The sampler runs in ~20 minutes when using 2 chains and 1000 samples + 1000 warmups per chain, which is really fast! However, the effective sample size ess_bulk is only 3 for the means and std-devs of the clusters, which is extremely low.

I’ve created a notebook with my model, data and results - Gaussian Mixture Model - Google Colab

Also sharing here for convenience

Model

def gmm_model(y, K):
    #mixture component probabilities
    lambdas = numpyro.sample("lambdas", dist.Dirichlet(concentration=jnp.ones(K)))

#mu is vector of cluster means, should be an order vector drawn from a Normal distribution.
    #Using a transformed distribution with an ordered transform.
    mu = numpyro.sample("mu", dist.TransformedDistribution(dist.Normal(0, 10).expand([K]), transforms.OrderedTransform()))

#I'm guessing this is equivalent to expand()? Maybe it does stuff in parallel, but expand should do that too?
    with numpyro.plate("K", K):
        #sigma is vector of cluster stddevs
        sigma = numpyro.sample("sigma", dist.HalfNormal(scale=0.1))

with numpyro.plate("N", len(y)):
        #cluster_idx is vector of index to which cluster a data point belongs to.
        #add infer={'enumerate': 'parallel'} to tell MCMC to marginalize discrete variable.
        cluster_idx = numpyro.sample("cluster_idx", dist.Categorical(lambdas), infer={'enumerate': 'parallel'})

#likelihood - y ~ normal(mu[c], sigma[c])
        numpyro.sample("y", dist.Normal(loc=mu[cluster_idx], scale=sigma[cluster_idx]), obs=y)

Here’s what the data looks like
download