Do operation returns nothing (action-abduction-inference)

Hi, I’m relatively new to Pyro and therefore have been relying heavily on tutorials, namely this one covering normalizing flows for counterfactual inference. It performs counterfactual inference which I am trying to implement.

When trying to generate counterfactuals, my code fails at the do step of setting a binary variable to is opposite and my counterfactual model has an empty trace. A minimum working example can be seen below:

import pyro
import pyro.distributions as dist
import pyro.poutine as poutine

import pandas as pd
import numpy as np
import torch

def ProposedModelSmall(data, gamma_shift=0., C=0.):
    gamma_shift = torch.tensor(gamma_shift)
    C = torch.tensor(C)

lambda1 = torch.tensor(8.679151808881061e-24)
    lambda2 = torch.tensor(-0.15230709314346313)
    lambda3 = torch.tensor(-0.8194252848625183)
    lambda4 = torch.tensor(0.849686861038208)

with pyro.plate("data", data.size(0)):
        u1 = pyro.sample("u1", dist.Normal(torch.tensor(0.), torch.tensor(0.6)))
        u2 = pyro.sample("u2", dist.Normal(torch.tensor(0.), torch.tensor(0.8)))
        u3 = pyro.sample("u3", dist.Normal(torch.tensor(0.), torch.tensor(0.9)))

a_prob = torch.sigmoid(gamma_shift*lambda1*C + u1)
        a_val = pyro.sample("a", dist.Bernoulli(probs=a_prob), obs=data[:,0])

r_val = pyro.sample("r", dist.Normal(lambda2*a_val + u2, 1.), obs=data[:,1]) 

y_prob = torch.sigmoid(lambda3*a_val + lambda4*r_val + u3)
        y_val = pyro.sample("y", dist.Bernoulli(probs=y_prob), obs=data[:,2])

# Sample data
samples = pd.DataFrame(columns=['A', 'R', 'Y'])
samples['A'] = [1., 0., 1.]
samples['R'] = [1.25, 0.87, 0.43]
samples['Y'] = [0., 1., 1.]

def infer_exogenous(obs, model):
    input_obs = torch.tensor(np.array([[obs[k] for k in ['a', 'r', 'y']]]))

cond_sample = pyro.condition(lambda: model(input_obs), obs)
    cond_trace = pyro.poutine.trace(cond_sample).get_trace()