Confusion regarding batch_shapes, event_shapes, independence

Dear all,

I am quite new to pyro and I am struggling a bit to undestand the relationships between event_shapes and batch_shapes, dependence and independence, and how this information is shared between different objects in pyro.

I have read the “Tensor shapes in pyro” article as well as “Reasoning about shapes and probability” and the relevant doc entries (like e.g. for pyro.plate). While mostly being able to nod along to these articles, there still seems to be some fundamental misunderstanding on my part.

I would be grateful, if you could help me out by telling me why the following minimalistic examples behave the way they do. I am relatively fit with maths and probability but have little experience with python context manager functionality which is why my examples try to sidestep pyro.plate().

Q 1 Are batch-shape, event_shape not passed to inference and sufficient to declare independence?

How I understood it, event_shape and batch-shape are designations of dependence and independence respectively and as such are passed to the inference algorithms. They designate which parts of the data later should be assumed to be a single realization of a multivariate distribution and which dimension codifies jumping to a new realization. So I thought I should be able to do the following:

1. Get some data in a specific shape (e.g. [10,2])

2. Build model that produces observed output of shape [10,2]

3. Declare dependence/independence by specifying the shapes.

4. Invoke an autoguide and run SVI

However, this is not the case, the following code behaves undexpectedly to me in the second example:

"""
    1. Imports and definitions
"""

# i) Imports

import numpy as np
import torch
import pyro
import pyro.distributions as dist
from pyro.infer import SVI, Trace_ELBO
from pyro.optim import Adam
from pprint import pprint

# ii) Data generation

mu_true = 0
sigma_true = 1
batch_shape = [10,2]