Confusion about bias term

Hi all!

I am new to numpyro and trying to define my model as shown below. I am using NUTS HMC sampling for learning. I have been following this resource predominantly: Example: Bayesian Neural Network — NumPyro documentation.

Could someone help me understand how to set a unit normal prior over my bias terms (b1 and b2) ? Is this correct? I want to ensure my weights and biases are updating once HMC starts.

def model(X, Y, D_H, mask):

D_X, D_Y = X.shape[1], 1

# Sample first layer (put unit normal priors on all weights)
w1 = numpyro.sample("w1", dist.Normal(jnp.zeros((D_X, D_H)), jnp.ones((D_X, D_H)))) # dim. D_X D_H
b1 = numpyro.sample("b1", dist.Normal(0, 1), sample_shape=(D_H,))
z1 = nonlin(jnp.matmul(X, w1) + b1) # dim. N D_H  <= first layer of activations

# Sample final layer of weights and neural network output
w2 = numpyro.sample("w2", dist.Normal(jnp.zeros((D_H, D_Y)), jnp.ones((D_H, D_Y)))) # dim. D_H D_Y
b2 = numpyro.sample("b2", dist.Normal(0, 1), sample_shape=(D_Y,))
z2 = jnp.matmul(z1, w2) + b2 # dim. N D_Y  <= output of the neural network

# Put prior on observation noise. Note if X~Gamma(a,b) then 1/X~InvGamma(a,b).
prec_obs = numpyro.sample("prec_obs", dist.Gamma(0.1, 0.1))
sigma_obs = 1.0 / jnp.sqrt(prec_obs)

# Observed data mean prediction
pr_y_given_everything = dist.Normal(z2, sigma_obs)
numpyro.sample("Y", pr_y_given_everything, obs=Y) # observation obs param is critical.

return pr_y_given_everything

Thank you!
Ashley

looks ok to me. it’s unfortunate you removed the many assert statements found in examples/bnn.py because that could have helped you be confident in your model specification.

b2 = numpyro.sample("b2", dist.Normal(0, 1), sample_shape=(D_Y,))
assert b2.shape == (D_Y,)

i’m not sure if using sample_shape is generally a good idea in a model. instead i’d do something like

b2 = numpyro.sample("b2", dist.Normal(0, jnp.ones(D_Y)))
assert b2.shape == (D_Y,)