Can I use Pyro to build a factor graph model?

I am facing a computer vision problem, and I want to build a Conditional Random Fields model to solve it.
I want something like PyTorch to do the heavy works, for example, use PyTorch to build CNNs is very easy now.

I am happy seeing that Pyro is build on top of PyTorch. As I’m new to graphical models and probabilistic programming, I found that the Pyro docs seems all about directed graphical model. I want to know whether or not Pyro can model undirected graphical models such as CRF?

Hi, this is a rather general question, do you have a more specific example in mind? Have you looked at the PyTorch tutorial on CRFs for sequence tagging?

To answer your question directly, it’s certainly possible in principle, but some inference algorithms (e.g. here) and representations (e.g. here) for undirected models may be more suitable for Pyro than others. If you want to represent your model directly as a large factor graph and do inference with belief propagation or message passing (which is probably the scenario you have in mind), you’re likely better off implementing it yourself as in the above tutorial.

Thank you @eb8680 for your informative reply. I think implementing some basic algorithms from scratch is necessary for me right now.

@nicedi I’m using a factor graph model for a problem I’m working on. The model code looks very clean, where I use pyro observe statements for each factor:

def model(data):
    x = pyro.sample("x", my_uniform_prior)
    pyro.sample("factor_1", dist.Normal(0, 1), obs=some_function_of(x))
    pyro.sample("factor_2", dist.Normal(0, 1), obs=another_function_of(x))

Then in my guide I hand-implement a message passing algorithm to predict a maximum a posteriori x, sampling it from a Delta distribution:

def guide(data):
    x = pyro.sample("x", dist.Delta(custom_predictor(data)))

This works fine in pyro.infer.SVI since I can still learn other parts of the mode using variational inference.