[Beginners] Toy examples/tutorials for exact inference on discrete variables?

Hi guys, this is my first time to learn ppl and my question may sound stupid. Much appreciation for any pointers or suggestions!

Throughout the official tutorial, I can’t find simple examples of exact inference on a graph with discrete variables (many have suggested HMM or GMM examples, but you need to know the model and many things like Poutine, AutoDelta to understand the code).

I do find some good discussions here, like

But I still don’t know how to write my own example (actually I try to modify them but I always fail with errors like “ValueError: Number of einsum subscripts must be equal to the number of operands.” ). For example, I failed to write a simple model including 4 binary variables x1, x2, x3, and z = x1 & x2 & x3 (logical and) and obtain the exact conditional probability P(z|x1=1) (I know this example doesn’t utilize observed samples and deep learning but I just want to know how I can do that).

I am also writing notes with “stupid” examples, and hope that it could help someone with little knowledge about ppl like me.

1 Like

Hi @dreamerlzl, I am not sure if my answer is helpful when you have to use some utilities to compute such conditional probability. The benefit is it applies to more general models.

import torch
import pyro
import pyro.distributions as dist

@pyro.infer.config_enumerate
def model(z=None, p1=0.3, p2=0.8, p3=0.4):
    x1 = pyro.sample('x1', dist.Bernoulli(p1))
    x2 = pyro.sample('x2', dist.Bernoulli(p2))
    pyro.sample('z', dist.Bernoulli((x1.bool() & x2.bool()) * p3), obs=z)

p_z_x1 = pyro.do(model, data={'x1': torch.tensor(1.)})
p_z_x1_enum = pyro.poutine.enum(p_z_x1, first_available_dim=-1)
trace = pyro.poutine.trace(p_z_x1_enum).get_trace(z=torch.tensor(0.))
log_prob_evaluate = pyro.infer.mcmc.util.TraceEinsumEvaluator(
    trace, has_enumerable_sites=True, max_plate_nesting=1)
print("p(z=0|x1=1):", log_prob_evaluate.log_prob(trace).exp())