Why obs are labels in the model of a classification task in the Bayesian Neural Network?

I am new to Pyro and trying to implement the classification task of MNIST dataset using Bayesian Neural Network. In Model, I have such a line:

pyro.sample("obs", Categorical(logits=lhat), obs=y_data)

Based on my understanding, this function samples from a conditional distribution given an observation, which is just the inference algorithm.

My question is: why obs in this case is the y_data, not x_data? My understanding is that we make the inference given the observation which is x_data.

Any intuitive explanation is appreciated!

Hi @weikb, I think these intro tutorial (part1, part2) will give you an intuition for what a Pyro model looks like. Hopefully they will answer your question. :slight_smile:

Hi @fehiepsi, thanks for your reply and references. I have actually gone through the tutorial that you mentioned. I guess my question is quite specific to a classification task. Although the tutorial is helpful, it is still unclear to me that why pyro.sample("obs", Categorical(logits=lhat), obs=y_data) has obs set to y_data instead of x_data. In my understanding, the observation should x_data instead of y_data when we do the inference.

It depends on the problem I guess. If x is a random variable (I guess it is image in your case), then you can use

# each image is a tensor with values 0, 1
pyro.sample('x', dist.Bernoulli(probs), obs=x_data)

In your problem, I think y is a Categorical random variable over the categories 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9; so the statement

pyro.sample("obs", Categorical(logits=lhat), obs=y_data)

means that y_data follows a Categorical distribution with logits=lhat. It has nothing to do with x_data. If you use x_data there, then that statement means that x_data follows a Categorical distribution with logits=lhat. Is your x_data the image or the category?