[Newbie] How to get the loss value between every sample of a MCMC

Hello, I am totally new to Pyro and I am not sure to understand how I can get the loss value between every sample of a MCMC.

Also, I’m not quite sure why the function model is called multiple times (often many more than the number of samples).

Thanks for your attention.

get the loss value between every sample of a MCMC

Hi, can you clarify what you mean by loss value? Do you mean the unnormalized probability of each sample?

why the function model is called multiple times

In Metropolis-Hastings-based MCMC algorithms, proposed samples are sometimes rejected, meaning that the unnormalized density might need to be evaluated multiple times to produce a single sample. See Chapter 3 of Bayesian Methods for Hackers for an intuitive introduction to MCMC.

1 Like

If you want to get potential energy of the model given a collection of samples, then I think the fastest way is to use predictive utility. For example, consider a logistic regression model

import torch
import pyro
import pyro.distributions as dist
from pyro.infer.mcmc.api import MCMC
from pyro.infer.mcmc.nuts import NUTS

dim = 3
data = torch.randn(2000, dim)
true_coefs = torch.arange(1., dim + 1.)
labels = dist.Bernoulli(logits=(true_coefs * data).sum(-1)).sample()

def model(data):
    with pyro.plate('plate_beta', dim):
        coefs = pyro.sample('beta', dist.Normal(0., 1.))
    with pyro.plate('plate_y'):
        y = pyro.sample('y', dist.Bernoulli(logits=coefs.matmul(data.t())), obs=labels)
    return y

nuts_kernel = NUTS(model, jit_compile=True, ignore_jit_warnings=True)
mcmc = MCMC(nuts_kernel, num_samples=500, warmup_steps=100)
mcmc.run(data)
samples = mcmc.get_samples()

then you can get log probabilities as follows

from pyro.infer.mcmc.util import predictive
from pyro.distributions.util import sum_rightmost

trace = predictive(model, samples, data, return_trace=True)
trace.compute_log_prob()
pe = 0.